Rebecca Belmore Quits Being an Artist?

IS THIS THE END?

Rebecca Belmore did a performance in Vancouver, BC in front of the Vancouver Art Gallery on Saturday, September 11th. I only found out about it two hours before it was to happen – not enough time for me to make the 4 hour drive to go up there. Afterward, I heard from others who were there that at the end of the performance, Belmore announced that she was QUITTING! The rumored reason is that she is being sued by a former dealer. Her performance took place in front of a sign that said “I AM WORTH MORE THAN A MILLION DOLLARS TO MY PEOPLE.” I sincerely hope that Belmore does not quit being an artist. Her work is important in so many ways. I will post more information about this when I have something more than rumors.

For more about Rebecca Belmore see my previous posts

Rebecca Belmore: Vigil and The Named and The Unnamed

Friend or Foe – Part III: Photos from Rebecca Belmore’s Video Installation at Or Gallery (May 2010)

Narrative Strings, thanks to Marcia Crosby

Were you there? I’d love to have a guest essay on the event, or if that’s too much work, just reply in the comments section!

3 thoughts on “Rebecca Belmore Quits Being an Artist?

  1. Pingback: Is It Really Possible to QUIT Art? « Not Artomatic

  2. Pingback: Megaphone? What Megaphone? « Not Artomatic

  3. I was there! But I do not see myself in the video or where I was standing while she did this piece. Perhaps she performed it more than one time? Glad I found this site now I have some context to what I saw that day. Did she really quit?

Leave a Reply

